EXERCISING POWER OVER TEMPTATION


 

William Andrew Dillard
Parson to Person

The alluring power of sin creates temptation. As it was in Eden, so it is today. Truly, an appeal from the devil, and the resident sin nature within to transgress in deference to the flesh is powerful. John summed it up as “. . .the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life. . .” I John 2:16 Since all men are sinners; temptation is common. Much then is penned in Holy writ to warn, to guide, to provide escape, and to triumph over the power of temptation. 1 Cor 10:13 (There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.). The bottom line is that no power can negate the free moral agency of man. Thus, it is incumbent upon every individual to be proactive in guarding what is received and entertained. Paul put it like this: “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things” Phil. 4:8. Control, control, control what is mentally entertained at all times!


Certainly, temptations are strong or they would not be temptations. Somehow, they seem to hit in the weakest moments; hence, the necessity of the power of Christ. Temptations may be effectively countered by identifying present blessings. Why should I fall for the slimy pits of sin when I have a spouse who loves and respects me; children who look to me for guidance and example; fellow Christians whose fellowship is priceless; a Creator God who loves me even in my unlovely state so much that He left heaven and died for my redemption and eternal well being, I am a child of the King. My Father owns the universe, and I am a sharing owner in Him, I am in a brief experiential training environment designed to prepare me to rule and to reign in this grand universe we own, and graduation time draws near. Should I throw all this away for what I cannot keep; for what will benefit me nothing?!? That is just crazy! But some have done it; others will, but I choose to not be one of them. Sin knocks at my door, but I invite Jesus to answer the knock! Oh, yes, God’s people have power over temptation! They just need to exercise it more often!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

