Our Soul Preserver


 

Psalm 121:1-8

The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul. The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore,” Psalm 121:7, 8

Do you know anyone who is accident-prone? I do . . . me! If there is a way to get hurt doing something, then hurt will find me. I do not know if it is because I am a klutz or what, but I pretty much stay banged up all the time. My body is filled with scars associated with stories that I am not so proud to share.

I am glad God sent me a wife with a great deal of common sense. I have found that since she and I have been together I get injured a lot less. She is really good at pointing out to me the folly of my ways. She really is one who keeps me from harm. I would probably have more scars if it were not for her.

Just as my wife keeps me from physical harm here in this world, my God keeps me from spiritual harm as well. Verse 7 states, “The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil.” The evil God keeps me from is the evil of sin. If I am not careful, sin can have dominion over my life. That condemning power can become more harmful to my life than any physical ailment.

This is why it is crucial that I never take for granted the protection I receive from the Lord. I can have confidence that I have a shield from evil, but that confidence must be humbly placed in God.

 

JUST ASKING

Are you seeking the Lord’s protection from evil?

Nathan Rogers

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational

One response to “Our Soul Preserver

Leave a Reply

