No Excuses  


 

Romans 1:18-20

They are without excuse,” Romans 1:20.

An Arab asked his friend to lend him his rope. The friend replied, “I can’t. I need it to tie my camel.” The borrower reminded his friend, “But, you don’t have a camel.” This friend replied, “Right! But when I don’t want to lend you my rope, one excuse is as good as any other.”

Mankind learns to make excuses very early in life, usually because of fear. David said that children come into the world speaking lies. The chimney corner description of an excuse is the skin of a reason stuffed with a lie.

Some folks are really clever and talented at making excuses. God cuts through our excuses straight to the heart, revealing our sinister motives. Man looks on the outward appearance, but God looks on the heart. “All things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do” (Heb. 4:13).

Recently, I ran over a stranger’s rural mailbox and excused the incident because the box was too close to the road. Daily, I passed the bashed mailbox lying on the ground. Daily, the Holy Spirit tortured me to practice what I preach. Finally, I said calf rope, bought a new mail box exactly like it and had a friend help me replace the thing. The owner caught us and inquired of our suspicious business. I ‘fessed-up, and he replied. “Oh that thing has been run over three times. I wasn’t even going to replace it.” We finished our clandestine job, and I was mad for having wasted a perfectly good excuse.

Many people’s lives are nothing more than an excuse, an illusion to fool their friends, neighbors and themselves. Most of mankind’s dysfunction is based on excuses.

 

 

IN OTHER WORDS

The Lord is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit (Psalm 34:18).

Robert Brock

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational

One response to “No Excuses  

Leave a Reply

