Latter Day Demons  


 

1 Timothy 4:1-7

But refuse profane and old wives’ fables, and exercise thyself rather unto godliness,” 1 Timothy 4:7.

In 2010, I ran my first marathon. That is 26.2 miles! I will admit, I was not the fastest marathoner, but I finished. To train your body to run 26.2 miles is an intensive and time-consuming task. It took me about eighteen months to prepare for that race. I can remember the first day I went out to train. I was going to run two miles. I ran about one mile and walked the rest.

That first day of training was nowhere near the 26.2 mile goal I had set, but it was a start. Before long two miles was just a warm up. I kept getting up each morning and pressing on. It was an exercise in persistence and progress toward my goal, and it paid off! When we exercise any area of our lives, we should be constantly growing and improving. Training of any type is an exercise of both persistence and progress toward goals. It does not matter if it is physical, mental or spiritual the same principles apply.

In today’s passage, we are told of demons and false teachers that will try to deceive people and lead them away from God’s truths. How do we protect ourselves from this? First Timothy 4:7 instructs us to do it with exercise. We are to exercise godliness.

 

JUST A THOUGHT

Are you preparing yourself to handle false teaching through continual spiritual exercise?

 

Nathan Rogers

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational

One response to “Latter Day Demons  

Leave a Reply

