Cast Your Burden  


 

 

Psalm 55:22

“Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved,” Psalm 55:22.

 

I am a fixer. I want to be in control and I want solutions to be in my hands. If I was on an airplane that lost the pilot and they needed someone to bring the plane down safely, I would want to be that guy! I do not want my life in the hands of someone else, I trust me!

So, because of this, I tend to be a little slow when it comes to casting off my burdens. I do not cast them on anyone else, I just try to carry and compartmentalize them myself, usually without success.

It is easy for us to forget that we have a God that is in the burden relieving business. Not only will He take our burdens, but also He wants to take our burdens.

In today’s passage David, through song, reminds us of this truth. This psalm specifically speaks of the burden of dealing with our enemies, but the Bible is clear that the Lord wants all of our burdens.

What will you do with your burdens? Are you guilty of holding on to your burdens? Do you try to cast your burdens upon excuses or the shoulders of others? Let this song be a reminder that the place for our burdens is on the Lord.

 

 

JUST A THOUGHT

Do you have something that hinders you from casting your burdens on the Lord?

Nathan Rogers

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational

One response to “Cast Your Burden  

Leave a Reply

